
Colorado Civil Rights Division 

● The Colorado Civil Rights Division (“CCRD”)  enforces the Colorado 
Anti-Discrimination Act (“CADA”),which prohibits discrimination in 
employment, housing, and places of public accommodation. 

● All employers in Colorado (regardless of number of employees) are prohibited 
from discriminating against employees and applicants based on protected class, 
which includes age. 

● “Age means chronological age of at least 40 years” C.R.S. 24-34-301 (1)



Colorado Civil Rights Division 

CCRD is an EEOC (Title VII, ADA, ADEA) designated Fair Employment Practice Agency 
(FEPA), which means, when appropriate cases are “dual-filed” with both agencies. 

Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA) - applies to employers with 20+ 
employees. 



Gov. Guidance -  



Gov. Guidance -  

Employers may not postpone or withdraw a job offer because the individual is at higher
risk of contracting COVID-19, such as being 65 years old or pregnant. Being a vulnerable
individual does not justify unilaterally postponing the start date or withdrawing a job
offer. However, an employer should consider allowing telework or to discuss with these
individuals if they would like to postpone the start date.



Gov. Guidance -  

Employers should make reasonable accommodations to offer protection to an individual
whose disability puts that individual at a greater risk of contracting COVID-19 and who
therefore requests accommodations actions to eliminate possible exposure. Even with the
constraints imposed by the COVID-19 pandemic, some accommodations may meet an
employee’s needs on a temporary basis without causing undue hardship on the employer
and such accommodation should be made.



CCRD Guidance 



CCRD Guidance 

Employers MAY NOT enact policies, implement procedures, or otherwise take actions that disfavor older 
employees, such as requiring them to work from home while other employees return to work, work in a 
different area of your location, take lunch or breaks separately, undergo testing, or take other precautionary 
measures not required of all employees. 

Employers MAY favor older employees based upon their age under the ADEA. For example, a policy providing 
older workers the opportunity to work remotely, if they wish, would not violate the ADEA. Similarly, you may 
elect to grant older workers’ requests to work remotely even if you deny similar requests from younger 
employees.



Complaints Must be filed within six 
months of alleged discrimination 



After filing a complaint... 

● Possible mediation and settlement
● Investigation 
● Determination 

○ Appeal OR
○ Conciliation

● Possible Remedies
○ Compensatory damages 
○ Non-monetary
○ Attorney fees 

● Affirmative requirements - policy changes, training, reporting to CCRC


